Of Lost Love and Poetry

heartaches + words

The Ghost of You

www.pxleyes.com

I can feel you
at the back of my mind
Your breath sending ripples
of remembered joy
and sadness
love indescribable
and pain, yes the pain
I thought I got rid of you
yet you’re there
waiting for my eyes to close
so you can appear
in front of me
with that wicked smile
your charm, my weakness
I remember the scars
on your face
growing red as you sip
your drink
and I thought
I could kiss the pain away
heal you
in these arms
opened wide to embrace
the hurts and burdens
you carry
But I was wrong
blinded I was
with your sweetness
Now I hurt
as the illusion falls
I was broken
damaged by false hopes
the lies repeating
like a broken record
reverberating
chastising me
for believing too quickly
because there was nothing
not even from the start
And so I shelved my dreams
erased what I could
images and words
that connect me to you
yet a ghost of you remains
living in my darkness
fingers trailing
a path so familiar
to the heart once laid down
exposed to your whims
shuddering as memories
push their way to the surface
only to fade
like you

-©Little Ink Elf 050514 –

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “The Ghost of You

Leave a Reply

