Of Lost Love and Poetry

heartaches + words

Words

Take back those words that you haunt my dreams
with,
for they cripple me with distaste and displeasure
as nightmares come and creep
holding me down, holding me tight.
Such words that aim to hurt aren’t meant
to cross your lips,
such sweet lips that once settled on mine own.
Poisoned words that drip with every utterance
has consumed the very best in me,
as they send me reeling back with a frightened heart
beating like a drum that echoes inside my head
as your words vibrate and resonate with
the madness and darkness that you called love.
Even as I cover my ears I can still hear
those dangerous words you speak relentlessly
pursuing me in my dreams.
Words that were once coated with passion
no longer give me the warmth that I crave for.
All that is left is the cold winter’s chill,
like death’s kiss placed on pale cheeks.
Where is the fire that burned my senses
every time your lips part to tell me the words
I longed to hear?
Where is that spark that sends those shivers
down my spine?
Did you even feel them at all or was it all in my head?

-Little Ink Elf 070913-

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment